Happy Easter!

It’s Easter!  New Life.  Jesus lives.  This is the scripture that has been life giving  over the last several months.
 Matthew 9:17 Neither do people pour new wine into old wineskins. If they do, the skins will burst; the wine will run out and the wineskins will be ruined. No, they pour new wine into new wineskins, and both are preserved.”

I’m being spoken to by this scripture and it excites me.  Although Initially, it had challenged me and I doubted that I could live it, I was comforted when I thought about whom it is that is speaking and I tell my self over and over that if it is that I’m His, then He will fulfill it’s work in me.  
All there is for me to do is believe, but even belief I can’t do without His power, because of my humanity.  The truth, is that I’m Jesus’s.  He did the work that I don’t have to do.  The power in me to do anything comes from Jesus.   With Him all things are possible.  Only He is good and perfect.  I follow Him and I strive to show love in his mercy and grace.  
My heart, if I allow Him to have full reign of it, can be changed.  Though hurt, pain and grief have in the past overwhelmed me, His work on the cross redeems and renews me.  There is power in the cross.  Jesus lives.  He gives me the power to move past my wounds.  He gives me the opportunity to me to drink the new wine.  
What is my work?  To turn to Him, and stand in faith.  To pray for strength.  To pray and love others.  I will be known by the fruit I produce.  I need to examine myself and ask, 
“What is the fruit that the world sees that I’ve been producing?”  What is the fruit? Well, here is what the word says it is:

Galatians 5:22-23 But the fruit<span class="crossreference" style="font-weight: bold; vertical-align: top;" value="(A)”> of the Spirit is love,<span class="crossreference" style="font-weight: bold; vertical-align: top;" value="(B)”> joy, peace,<span class="crossreference" style="font-weight: bold; vertical-align: top;" value="(C)”> forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,23 gentleness and self-control.<span class="crossreference" style="font-weight: bold; vertical-align: top;" value="(D)”> Against such things there is no law.

My prayer:  “Lord, thank you for the work you did on the cross.  I choose to follow you.  I choose to obey you.  ‘Your word is final. Your name above all!’ ~hillside united  I believe that you are alive and will return to judge the living and the dead.  Lord have mercy on us.  Forgive us our sins.  Thank you for your presence and your relentless love and mercy.  I love you.

Leave a Reply

